In Illinois, a driving under the influence (DUI) offense encompasses all kinds of compromised driving, such as drunk driving or driving while on illegal or prescribed drugs. A 1st DUI conviction carries both administrative and criminal punishments and here are some of them:
Administrative Penalties for a 1st DUI Conviction
If the court convicts you of a DUI offense, they will suspend your driving privileges for six months and they'll only allow you to qualify for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) on the 31st day of your administrative suspension. In case you refuse the BAC or blood alcohol content test, your license will be under suspension for 12 months.
This administrative suspension doesn’t begin immediately after your arrest. You could challenge the suspension by petitioning to withdraw a hearing for summary suspension. Noll Law Office and other legal professionals say that this is possible, but you’ll need to have representation. If the court grants your petition, your license won't undergo suspension and you avoid other associated complications with license reinstatement.
Criminal Penalties for a 1st DUI Conviction
A 1st DUI offense is a Class A misdemeanor, with the possibility of jail time of up to one year and fines not more than $2,500. These fines don’t include court expenses and surcharges, as well as costs for completing the sentence terms like the reinstatement process expenses and alcohol awareness classes. It’s important to note that prior convictions will remain a significant factor in future DUI charges if you continue to drive. Put simply, a succeeding DUI arrest is a 2nd DUI offense with more serious penalties.
While it’s explicitly prohibited in Illinois to offer a plea option, a reliable DUI lawyer could aid in having the charges dismissed or perhaps negotiate for a more favorable sentence term.